top of page
  • Writer's picturejoshuajgazzard

Intro - Dare to dream series

So the other day I was going through old files on my computer - backups from old computers that I hadn't looked at in ages. As I was going through I found a folder with old pieces I had written about 3 years back when I first started dreaming of a blog. Back then I thought I would call it 'Dare to dream' - and here's an intro I wrote. Over the coming days and weeks I am going to be posting minimaly edited (I don't agree with everything I wrote back then, and honestly some of it made me cringe) pieces on this blog, each with the subheading 'Dare to dream series'. Enjoy a bit of a glimpse into eighteen year old Josh.


A blog, an online diary, I don’t know what you would call this. I’m calling it ‘Dare to Dream’. And that’s what I want you to do. As you read anything I might write, I encourage you, I challenge you, I ask of you – Dare to dream. I dare you to consider that your life is one of purpose, that you are here to make a significant impact on this world, that you are here on this earth, reading this post right now not out of pure unguided chance, but out of something bigger. I dare you to dream that your circumstances that suck right now are just preparing you for an amazing future of impact, and if your circumstances are great right now, I dare you to dream that you can inspire others by using what you have. I dare you to dream that this world isn’t about you or me, but something far greater. I dare you to dream that the brokenness you might feel doesn’t have to be permanent; I dare you to dream that your anxiety won’t always exist; I dare you to dream that you won’t always feel empty; I dare you to dream that there’s more for you than clubbing each night; I dare you to do dream that you can feel fulfilled; I dare you to dream that you aren’t here on this earth by random chance – but that you were made: made to make a difference.

If you’re still reading, I assume you’re either accepting my ‘invitation’ of a kind, or at least what you’ve just read intrigued you enough to read just a little farther. ‘What is this guy about?’ Good question, with a pretty simple answer. I’m a guy who sees a generation of young people – my generation – hurting, confused, and achieving little to nothing (this is a general statement; I understand there are exceptions). I look around and every second person I meet struggles with anxiety, is confused about their identity, feels empty, unfulfilled, and even hopeless. And it kills me. Because when I look around I also see a generation of young people with so much potential to change the world. So what am I about? I’m about inspiring people, inspiring them to imagine and daring them to dream that life is bigger than what we see and what we know. I’m about inspiring people that there is light beyond the darkness, that hopelessness and pain isn’t the end of your story, and that you can do something amazing with your life. I don’t know what your religious belief is, I don’t know how old you are, I don’t know how academic or not you are – I know nothing about you. But I challenge you, I dare you – dream. Dream about a life of significance, a life of joy, a life of achievement, a life of fulfillment – Dream of a life worth living.

Still reading? Well, there’s one last thing you should know about me –but please don’t make assumptions about me based on this. I challenge you to go against the norm, in fact, I dare you – figure out who I am by what I say, not what not on what you might hear about me. I am a Christian. I believe in a creator God, I believe in His son Jesus, and I know and believe He loves us. If you don’t agree with this, I still encourage you to keep reading. I won’t force my faith on you (though if you do have questions I am more than open to answer them); that’s not my place. Everything I say is influenced by this faith – but I believe whether you share that faith or not, I very well may share something that inspires you. Sadly I must admit that there are ‘Christians’ who do not really represent the God I believe in. It saddens me, but please, please don’t make assumptions about me – if you have a question about who I am: Ask me! Don’t figure you know my type. To do so would be both insulting to me and immature of you. What this blog is about has not changed since I’ve shared my faith with you. So the words that intrigued you to keep reading, they’re 100% genuine. This for me is about trying to inspire and challenge people dream big. So would you keep reading? Would you dare? Dare to step out, dare to think big, dare to challenge the social norm of our generation, dare to be different, dare to make something of your life, dare to try, dare to start something – Dare to dream.


38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Комментарии


bottom of page