top of page
  • Writer's picturejoshuajgazzard

Something bigger - Dare to dream series

So the other day I was going through old files on my computer - backups from old computers that I hadn't looked at in ages. As I was going through I found a folder with old pieces I had written about 3 years back when I first started dreaming of a blog. Over the coming days and weeks I am going to be posting minimaly edited (I don't agree with everything I wrote back then, and honestly some of it made me cringe) pieces on this blog, each with the subheading 'Dare to dream series'. Enjoy a bit of a glimpse into eighteen year old (less educated) Josh.


Have you ever looked around and just marveled at how amazing our universe is? For example, did you know that the furthest star we can see is over 16 million lightyears away? Huge right? But from the huge to the tiny: your eye has one million optic nerves that connect to one million optic nerves in your brain to develop sight. If just one of these nerves connected to the wrong counterpart, you would not have sight. And then once these are all connected, it sees things upside down and then flips it around for our brain. Crazy right?


Every fingerprint is unique; no two trees are the same; we are yet to finish discovering new species of animals, fish and insects - this world just blows me away. And then I look at my life. I feel tiny when I put it into perspective, but at the same time, I notice that humans beings seem to be pretty special in all that. Sure, monkeys are smart and horses are amazing, but look at humans! And this gets me thinking – was I really just made to study, get a job, get married, have kids, retire and eventually die? It just doesn’t sound right to me.


Again, I dare you to dream. Imagine if this world is actually all about us? Sounds pretty unbelievable hey? But think about this: for the sake of argument let’s say God is real, and the Bible is not just a made up book of fairytales. The bible says that He made us to have a relationship with us. So wouldn’t it make sense then that everything kind of seems to be about us? Wouldn’t it be a logical answer to why in a universe this size, we’re yet to have actually encountered aliens?


Hard to swallow? Impossible? Maybe. But if you think for a second, if you make the assumption that there is an all powerful God, and the Bible was inspired by Him – the Christian faith is pretty logical. And sure, that’s a pretty big step of faith. But everything we believe in requires a step of fatih? If I sit on a chair I have faith it will hold me.Or the big bang theory for example – there was nothing, it reacted with nothing to explode and create everything. If this is possible, isn’t it odd that there weren’t more planets with living inhabitants? Seems like there's a leap of faith required to believe that. So why is the idea of putting faith in an all loving, all powerful God so, so hard? I dare you, look around you at the world we live in, and imagine if there were an all powerful Creator in charge? Dare to dream. And if you looked into it, if you asked God to show himself to you and actually searched for him, what do you have to lose? Imagine though if you found Him to be real? Again I say – dare to dream.

And if there is a God, then human’s position in the universe starts making a whole lot more sense. Suddenly there are reasons to things, suddenly it makes sense why it feels so empty just drinking and partying and studying and working, why so many people are constantly looking for more to fill the hole. If there’s a bigger reason and purpose to life, to your life, that would explain your desire to do something. If we simply evolved, then it should be survival of the fittest, and the human race shouldn’t exist. But if there’s a creator God, then it makes perfect sense that we are here and seem to be the big shots of the earth. Whether you believe in God or not, can you see that we as humans are made for something bigger? So step out of your comfort zone, start dreaming big

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page